Skip to content

Cities of Focus

Lighthouse Cities

RESPONSE brings together 8 cities who are active signatories of the Covenant of Mayors (CoM) for Climate and Energy Initiative and share a common vision for accelerating the decarbonisation of their territories, strengthening their capacity to adapt to unavoidable climate change impacts and allowing citizens to access secure, sustainable and affordable energy.

During RESPONSE, the two Lighthouse Cities (LHs) of Turku and Dijon will advance already existing city platforms to further support the operation of a smart and resilient city in the context of climate adaptation and safety risks, supporting services such as smart diagnostics (e.g. detect the risk of urban heat islands) and disaster management (due to heat waves, power shortcuts) or “perturbations” (public events, demonstrations), by sending targeted alerts to their citizens. In parallel the two LHs will share their know-how to less advanced cities – the Fellow Cities (FCs).